|
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
Photo Contests
Hello All:
I am fairly new to digital photography but last month I entered a photo contest at PicPrizes. (www.picprizes.com)
Well I was surprised that I actually won! They paid me $25 for a photo of a fire engine that I had taken.
Has anyone else won from this photo contest site or any others?
Enjoy being part of the forum.
Last edited by wini on Jul 20th, 2006 at 05:26 PM
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jul 20th, 2006 05:23 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
shootem
Senior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Utah, Mexico, California
Posts: 2166
|
Congratulations Wini. Have you read all the fine print, do you retain copyright?
Beware of the fine print.
This looks a bit suspicious:
PicPrizes does not claim ownership of Content you submit or make available for inclusion on the Service. However, with respect to Content you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, you grant PicPrizes the following worldwide, royalty-free and non-exclusive license(s), as applicable:
With respect to photos or graphics you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, the license to use, distribute, reproduce, modify, adapt, publicly perform and publicly display such Content on the Service solely for the purpose for which such Content was submitted or made available. This license exists only for as long as you elect to continue to include such Content on the Service and will terminate at the time you remove or PicPrizes removes such Content from the Service.
"
So - what this is saying, they can use any photo they want royalty free.... not paying you for using it. To me, this looks like a scam to get stock royalty free images.
Beware.
CG
Last edited by shootem on Jul 22nd, 2006 at 11:23 PM
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jul 22nd, 2006 08:16 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
Actually, to me that is not what it says at all... it just says that they have the right to show your pictures on their site.
The same right that this forum has.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jul 22nd, 2006 11:11 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
Emailed Them
I went and emailed them to try and get clarification. Here was their response:
With respect to photos or graphics you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, the license to publicly display such Content on the Service. This license exists only for as long as you elect to continue to include such Content on the Service and will terminate at the time you remove or PicPrizes removes such Content from the Service.
Bottom line: PicPrizes will never sell your photos to other sites or other people. The pictures you upload are only for the PicPrizes site.
They also pointed me to the photo upload page that ahs the same note on it.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jul 22nd, 2006 11:18 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
contestgur
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 4
|
Congratulations on your WIN wini! Contests are a great way to get exposure and an incentive to improve your skills!
Melanie
__________________
Contestguru
Loads of photography contests: http://www.contestguru.com
Sell Your Photos http://www.proofpositive.com/sellyourphotos/
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 8th, 2006 01:57 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
Thanks.... I have really had a good time on that site... I am slowly getting better!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 8th, 2006 03:56 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
LuckyRedHe
Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 37
|
Do you have a link to your photo on the contest site? I searched "fire engine" and got a guy spinning fire. I'm new at this too and excited to try some contest sites - so glad you pointed me to one!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 31st, 2006 05:19 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
Yeah... the site is called PicPrizes.
And a list of all fo their contests is:
www.picprizes.com/index.php?page=allcnt
Good luck!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 31st, 2006 11:08 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
LuckyRedHe
Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 37
|
After Googling them, I found a lot of complaints and reports to the BBB state that they are NOT in good standing. There are enough negatives for me to stay away.
Here's one link that has several complaints explained in detail:
www.todays-woman.net/poetry-scams-34.html
Just watching out for each other :O)
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 31st, 2006 06:10 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
wini
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
|
You have the wrong place.... PicPrizes has nothing to do with Circle of Photography or whatever that link was that you sent.
I can tell you that PicPrizes has no complaints and has always paid me and anyone else I know on time.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 31st, 2006 06:13 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
LuckyRedHe
Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 37
|
Wow. That was incredibly weird. I even tried finding the wrong site and I don't know how I did it? Man, I'm glad you corrected me --- I guess the site you recommend IS legit! Yay! I love legitimate businesses and not fraud LOL! Sorry about the mix-up... still haven't found your fire engine picture but I'll browse around and hope to see!
Thanks for not getting mad!
) LuckyRedHen
__________________
:o) LuckyRedHen
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Aug 31st, 2006 09:09 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
| The time now is 06:37 AM [GMT] |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|  |
Canon Cameras Nikon Cameras Olympus Cameras Sony Cameras Kodak Cameras Pentax Cameras
Minolta Konica
Fujifilm Finepix Cameras Panasonic Cameras Other digital cameras Forums
All comments, critiques and images are property of their posters. Company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners. Powered by vBulletin and vbPortal.
Copyright BytePhoto.com 2003-2008 - Digital camera reviews, digital photography news, digital camera forums and free online photo sharing album gallery.
Site Map

Monitor Calibration
|