|
 |
Kerridwyn
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1
|
Hi
I actually though I had made an acheivement today, I am a ametuer photographer with the intention of working for Australian Geographic.
I recieved the following email today and it was sent work wide congratulating me on my sucess.
Now I feel so stupid, I should know better with 4yrs of helpdesk experience on a ISP helpdesk.
I submitted the photo 3 days ago.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 13th, 2005 09:20 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
RVB Pix
Administrator Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland - France
Posts: 1781
|
quote: Originally posted by Medic1210
What kills me is that this very site has chosen to be associated with these scam artists by allowing them to be sponsors. Personally, I wouldn't want my site to be sponsored by scam artists.
Mike
Well, Mike, for your information we are not sponsored by these "scam artists".
Our sponsors are mainly, ACDSee, PowerRetouche, Total Training, and Shutterfly . All reliable products and services, IMO.
Maybe you have seen these "scam artists" published in the Ads by Goooooogle. These ads are served by Google, they change often and depend on your geographic location so not everyone sees the same ads.
If you, or any other member, see these ads appearing please do the following;
Right-click on the ad title and select either Copy Shortcut (IE) or Copy Link Location (Netscape)
Paste it here, and send it on so I can block these type of ads from appearing on Bytephoto.
BTW There are many blocked already
__________________
Kind regards
Stephen
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 13th, 2005 10:01 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
Medic1210
Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Rockingham, NC
Posts: 42
|
Sorry Stephen. My apologies. I didn't realize those were random ads sent by goooooogle. I thought they were a list of site sponsors. I'll be sure to PM you the links when I find them. Seeing that they aren't there now, I'm guessing maybe they have been blocked because I would see at least www.picture.com about every time I logged on.
Regards,
Mike
__________________
I'm not resourceful enough to insert a witty quip or intelligent quote here.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 16th, 2005 12:46 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
roxannd
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 1
|
scam on www.circleofphotographers.com
Thanks so much for all your words about this scam. I just received an email EXACTLY like yours, Susan and had thought about sending money. But something told me not to just yet.. I emailed the letter that I received to a couple of friends of mine and one of them found this site and the messages that you all have written. Good job! You saved me 67.00!!!! Thanks!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 16th, 2005 02:28 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
Richmond
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8
|
scams
Thanks for the warnings - nice to now this community looks after each other!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 17th, 2005 02:21 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
carly
Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 34
|
scams!!
I am so privileged to be among such an informed group of individuals. I received a congratulation e-mail on my "prized photo" and received the same format I just read about. Circle of Photography ALMOST had me. Then I thought about doing more research. Thankfully, a scam complaint listing on google lead me right back to the bytephoto forum as I should have checked there from the start. I am thrilled and grateful for the sharp minds in this forum that saved me $60!
A million thanks!!!!!!
__________________
vicky thompson
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Oct 22nd, 2005 01:31 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
Mandy
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
|
Re: Warning: Circle of Photographers
a 2006 sucker -- Hi - I'm a new member to this site, and obvioulsy another sucker who has fallen for this scam. I'm still "waiting" for my copy of the "manuscript" from Circle of Photographers. Unfortunately, I did not do my homework and research this place before I submitted my photograph and ordered their manuscript. Has anyone actually gotten their order or were able to cancel it? I find it rather funny (and sad) that they too told me the EXACT number of entries that were submitted for the contest....must be their standard reply for 2005 and 2006...
"We have chosen to publish your photograph in the 2006 edition of Photography vibes. Your photograph was selected out of 8523 entries. Your work below was appreciated for the assymetric composition and light mix used throughout"
I could kick myself...
Thanks for any advise.
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jun 12th, 2006 10:42 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
rct4905
Founding Member Platinum Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2141
|
someone needs to shut these companies down.
I thought by now it might have happened but looks like they are still going strong in 2006
Who do we even contact since obviously no one has even received their book for the $65?
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/reflectionsbyruth
_______________________________________
Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jun 12th, 2006 10:55 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
CelticLass
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Posts: 24
|
Hi Mandy,
I am so sorry you got caught with these thieves. I wish you luck in receiving your book, but, think that is a long shot.
If you are unsure of other sites like this, always check out forums etc. before you purchase these items.
Cheers,
Celticlass
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jun 13th, 2006 04:25 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
Mandy
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
|
2006 sucker
Thanks for your well-wishes...I've contacted them, have yet to hear back, but will surely post another update...if by chance they do reply and/or I actually get the book...last I heard, they were 91% done with their photography selections. (ha ha ha, yea, right) Otherwise I'll just contact my credit card company and let them know that the goods I purchased never came. Good thing for credit card protection! Believe me, from now on, if I ever enter such a thing again, I'll surely do my homework first!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jun 13th, 2006 03:47 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
rct4905
Founding Member Platinum Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2141
|
Mandy,
If you have credit card protection, then just cancel it now because I have heard of a few people from a couple years ago that never got their book.
The book is just filled with small pictures of thousands of submitted photos. anyone who submits a photo gets in the book.
I think they mean they have 91% of the people they need to send money they hope for.
A woman at work told me that many years ago they had sent one picture in of their dog and it got published.
I think they hope that the families and friends of those who get in the book purchase one too.
I did hear that they had sent out some books years ago but the past 3 years I havent heard anyone who said they received it.
If you tell the credit card company that you suspect fraud because of the others who have been taken.. then I am sure they will get your money back 
Good luck
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/reflectionsbyruth
_______________________________________
Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Jun 14th, 2006 02:38 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
Mandy
Junior Member Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
|
got my $$ back!
Hi All -
Thank goodness for credit card protection...I got my money back! I just went out to circleofphotographers.com and it appears their url has expired... HA! maybe now they'll stop scamming people!?!
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Sep 15th, 2006 09:56 PM |
|
|
|  |
 |
rct4905
Founding Member Platinum Gallery: Latest Photos
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2141
|
thats great Mandy, glad you got your money back and good to hear the site is shutdown.
Although beware of what company name they will go under next lol
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/reflectionsbyruth
_______________________________________
Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams
Report this to a moderator | IP: Logged
|
Sep 16th, 2006 02:25 AM |
|
|
|  |
 |
| The time now is 10:22 PM [GMT] |
 |
|
 |
|
|
|  |
Canon Cameras Nikon Cameras Olympus Cameras Sony Cameras Kodak Cameras Pentax Cameras
Minolta Konica
Fujifilm Finepix Cameras Panasonic Cameras Other digital cameras Forums
All comments, critiques and images are property of their posters. Company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners. Powered by vBulletin and vbPortal.
Copyright BytePhoto.com 2003-2008 - Digital camera reviews, digital photography news, digital camera forums and free online photo sharing album gallery.
Site Map

Monitor Calibration
|