+ Reply to Thread

Allow me to introduce myself

I'm Don. I worked as a professional many years ago in a processing plant, in newspapers, photo studios and selling photographic equipment.
    Somehow I found myself working as a techno-geek in an indusstrial setting. I din't like the idea of working in a factory, but I did stay rather long.
    Then I retired at age 70 and have returned to my first love.
    My first camera was a Brownie Hawkeye. Some of you elderly will remember it.
    Then I had a Mamiya twin lens and a pentax slr. I also had, among others, a Speed Graphic camera which I still own. I worked in darkrooms as a tech, sometimes printing enlargements, doing copy photos, running an immense B&W photo processor and also had my own darkrooms.
    My latest darling is a Nikon D5100. As an old timer who will be doing photography as a self employed journalist, this camera will suit me fine.
    I live with my wife of 51 years in a 208 year old timber frame house in a historic borough. no children, no pets, no debts.
    Life is good.

Best regards,
    Don
    You can't have everything. Where would you put it?

Blog Entries
    Welcome Don, nice to meet you my first camera was a Brownie too, it was a Christmas gift from my parents, forget what age I was, just remember being in gradeschool.
    Pbase.com/ReflectionsbyRuth
    Facebook.com/ReflectionsbyRuthPhotography
    ReflectionsbyRuth.com
    Facebook.com/Bytephoto

Welcome Don! So glad to see other Brownie users. My first, at age 5, was a Baby Brownie, and two years later, I'd saved the $11.00 needed for a Hawkeye. Do you remember the smell of the flashbulbs?

Looking forward to seeing your work.

Cheers,
    Kay Beausoleil