+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Photographers Lounge Thread, I Made The Semi-Finals in BytePhoto Community; A few weeks ago I entered my photo "Gabby" Bytephoto.com photo title "Profile" ( http://www.bytephoto.com/photopost/s...rofile&cat=all ) in the cutest pet ...

  1. #1
    Tatanka001's Avatar
    Tatanka001 is offline Bytephoto Supporter Tatanka001 is an appreciated member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    188

    Exclamation I Made The Semi-Finals

    A few weeks ago I entered my photo "Gabby" Bytephoto.com photo title "Profile" ( http://www.bytephoto.com/photopost/s...rofile&cat=all ) in the cutest pet contest I was notified today that my photo was selected to the semi-finals.


    Important: Your Semi-Finalist # is 100373309

    Dear Leonard Pagel,

    Thank you for recently entering the Cutest Pet Photo Contest co-sponsored by CutestPetContest.com. Good News! The votes have been pouring in for your photo causing our judges to sit up and take notice! Our judges have compared the other photo entries to yours and have unanimously selected your photo of Gabbie as a semi-finalist in the contest! You have a great chance of winning one of many prizes, including a $1,000.00 Cash Prize! Your photo has automatically advanced to the final round of judging to take place soon. I'll keep you posted on your standing as the contest progresses and wish you the best of luck.
    Last edited by RTaylor; Mar 27th, 2010 at 02:19 AM.

  2. #2
    RTaylor's Avatar
    RTaylor is offline Mrs. Byte Admin RTaylor is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bucks County, PA
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    27

    Thumbs down

    Leonard,
    Sounds exciting, but please be careful.
    This isn't really a legit contest. What they do is have people send in photos and tell them they have won or been in the finals.
    They then try to sell you the book.
    This has happened to a few members here on Byte going back as far as 2003. I can't remember the names of the other photo contests, but some are probably called Cutest Kid and many other names that some members here might remember.
    This company is making money off of your photo whether your photo wins or not.
    If you read the fine print on their website, it says they sell the book on Amazon but don't tell you how much nor do they tell you the ISBN.
    This is a quote from their website.

    If my photo is selected for printing how can I give permission to print the photo without making a purchase?

    If your photo is selected for printing and you do not want to purchase the book, please send us a letter via postal mail giving us permission to print your photo along with your signature.
    If you go to amazon.com and do a search on Cutest Pets Around the Globe, you will find they are trying to sell a 2007 book "new" for $69.95 which is probably what they will try to get from you.


    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss...sprefix=cutest

    What this company is banking on, is the non professional photographer that would get excited about having one of their pictures in a book and willingly pay the $69.95

    Where Is Your Office Located?
    Our company is a true internet company to the core. We were started by pet loving web designers working from their homes and have continued to work from our homes as the website has grown. Many people make up the ownership of the company but we all maintain our personal freedom by not being tied down to a 9-5 schedule like your local baker or candlestick maker. Our phones are answered by humans (when we are not too busy) and emails are usually returned in a timely fashion unless they find their way into our bulk folder and are lost forever. We do not respond to emails if the answer is obvious or can be easily found on our website. Our phone lines are reserved for customers only so please do not call us to inquire about a contest entry.
    After seeing this paragraph, this truely tells me that they are in it to grab the money and run. Notice it says they do not respond to emails.

    If I were you, I would not sign anything.
    I have a feeling the minute you sign something, its proof to them that you agree to purchase the book and they will send you the bill and not send you the book until they receive the money.

    This type of scam has been around for years, but it keeps popping up in different forms and company names so newer photographers don't recognize it.


    PS: I have a feeling you might have seen this link to the contest from a Google ad here on Byte?
    I have to find a way to eliminate those bogus contests so members don't get sucked into buying the books
    Last edited by RTaylor; Mar 27th, 2010 at 01:42 AM.
    Pbase.com/ReflectionsbyRuth
    Facebook.com/ReflectionsbyRuthPhotography

    ______________________________________
    Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams

  3. #3
    RTaylor's Avatar
    RTaylor is offline Mrs. Byte Admin RTaylor is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bucks County, PA
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    27
    I found the link here at Byte where one of our members Suzan was scammed back in 2005 but a contest exactly like the one you entered, but it was not pet related, just the same company under a different name.

    Warning: Circle of Photographers
    Pbase.com/ReflectionsbyRuth
    Facebook.com/ReflectionsbyRuthPhotography

    ______________________________________
    Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams

  4. #4
    Tatanka001's Avatar
    Tatanka001 is offline Bytephoto Supporter Tatanka001 is an appreciated member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Westland, MI
    Posts
    188
    thanks for the info I was not going to purchase any book Nor will I sign away my work.

  5. #5
    RTaylor's Avatar
    RTaylor is offline Mrs. Byte Admin RTaylor is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bucks County, PA
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    27
    glad you didnt :wink:
    These scams just keep re surfacing under different names all the time.
    I think I found a way to block those particular ads
    99% of the Google ads are legit, its just that one with the contests trying to get people to buy books that we want to block.

    I think also in the small print, you are not eligible to win the prize until you buy the book.
    Pbase.com/ReflectionsbyRuth
    Facebook.com/ReflectionsbyRuthPhotography

    ______________________________________
    Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter. -Ansel Adams

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Somethig way off topic ..but it made me laugh
    By JoeMc in forum BytePhoto Cafe
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Nov 4th, 2010, 09:22 PM
  2. Another one of my photo's made it to tv
    By Tatanka001 in forum Photographers Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jan 19th, 2010, 09:56 PM
  3. One of my photos made it on TV today
    By Tatanka001 in forum Photographers Lounge
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jan 18th, 2010, 08:54 AM
  4. I made the front page of the Bucks County, PA Herald
    By RTaylor in forum Published Members
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Aug 14th, 2009, 09:17 AM
  5. Weekly Edit Challenge - a choice has been made
    By pippafox in forum Photographers Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Mar 31st, 2008, 04:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts