+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Photographers Lounge Thread, Photo Contests in BytePhoto Community; Hello All: I am fairly new to digital photography but last month I entered a photo contest at PicPrizes. (www.picprizes.com) ...

  1. #1
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8

    Photo Contests

    Hello All:

    I am fairly new to digital photography but last month I entered a photo contest at PicPrizes. (www.picprizes.com)

    Well I was surprised that I actually won! They paid me $25 for a photo of a fire engine that I had taken.

    Has anyone else won from this photo contest site or any others?

    Enjoy being part of the forum.
    Last edited by wini; Jul 20th, 2006 at 10:26 AM.

  2. #2
    shootem's Avatar
    shootem is offline Senior Member shootem is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Utah, Mexico, California
    Posts
    283
    Congratulations Wini. Have you read all the fine print, do you retain copyright?
    Beware of the fine print.

    This looks a bit suspicious:


    PicPrizes does not claim ownership of Content you submit or make available for inclusion on the Service. However, with respect to Content you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, you grant PicPrizes the following worldwide, royalty-free and non-exclusive license(s), as applicable:

    With respect to photos or graphics you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, the license to use, distribute, reproduce, modify, adapt, publicly perform and publicly display such Content on the Service solely for the purpose for which such Content was submitted or made available. This license exists only for as long as you elect to continue to include such Content on the Service and will terminate at the time you remove or PicPrizes removes such Content from the Service.
    "

    So - what this is saying, they can use any photo they want royalty free.... not paying you for using it. To me, this looks like a scam to get stock royalty free images.
    Beware.
    CG
    Last edited by shootem; Jul 22nd, 2006 at 04:23 PM.

  3. #3
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    Actually, to me that is not what it says at all... it just says that they have the right to show your pictures on their site.

    The same right that this forum has.

  4. #4
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8

    Emailed Them

    I went and emailed them to try and get clarification. Here was their response:

    With respect to photos or graphics you submit or make available for inclusion on publicly accessible areas of the Service, the license to publicly display such Content on the Service. This license exists only for as long as you elect to continue to include such Content on the Service and will terminate at the time you remove or PicPrizes removes such Content from the Service.

    Bottom line: PicPrizes will never sell your photos to other sites or other people. The pictures you upload are only for the PicPrizes site.

    They also pointed me to the photo upload page that ahs the same note on it.

  5. #5
    contestgur is offline Junior Member contestgur is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    4
    Congratulations on your WIN wini! Contests are a great way to get exposure and an incentive to improve your skills!

    Melanie
    Contestguru

    Loads of photography contests: http://www.contestguru.com
    Sell Your Photos http://www.proofpositive.com/sellyourphotos/

  6. #6
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks.... I have really had a good time on that site... I am slowly getting better!

  7. #7
    LuckyRedHe is offline Junior Member LuckyRedHe is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Do you have a link to your photo on the contest site? I searched "fire engine" and got a guy spinning fire. I'm new at this too and excited to try some contest sites - so glad you pointed me to one!

  8. #8
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    Yeah... the site is called PicPrizes.

    And a list of all fo their contests is:
    www.picprizes.com/index.php?page=allcnt

    Good luck!

  9. #9
    LuckyRedHe is offline Junior Member LuckyRedHe is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    After Googling them, I found a lot of complaints and reports to the BBB state that they are NOT in good standing. There are enough negatives for me to stay away.

    Here's one link that has several complaints explained in detail:
    www.todays-woman.net/poetry-scams-34.html

    Just watching out for each other :O)

  10. #10
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    You have the wrong place.... PicPrizes has nothing to do with Circle of Photography or whatever that link was that you sent.

    I can tell you that PicPrizes has no complaints and has always paid me and anyone else I know on time.

  11. #11
    LuckyRedHe is offline Junior Member LuckyRedHe is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Wow. That was incredibly weird. I even tried finding the wrong site and I don't know how I did it? Man, I'm glad you corrected me --- I guess the site you recommend IS legit! Yay! I love legitimate businesses and not fraud LOL! Sorry about the mix-up... still haven't found your fire engine picture but I'll browse around and hope to see!
    Thanks for not getting mad!
    ) LuckyRedHen
    ) LuckyRedHen

  12. #12
    wini is offline Junior Member wini is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    No problem... we are all here to work together.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. contests
    By kathypi in forum News and Information
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Nov 2nd, 2007, 08:32 PM
  2. Patagonia stores photo contests
    By BytePhoto in forum News Archive 2003 - 2010
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Oct 30th, 2007, 02:23 AM
  3. voting on photo contests
    By SesBeast in forum News and Information
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Dec 4th, 2006, 07:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts